Nizami Ganjavi International Center

Center for Learning, Tolerance, Dialogue & Understanding

Petar Stoyanov

2013-10-14 31


President of Republic of Bulgaria (1997-2002), Board Member of the Nizami Ganjavi International Center.

He won the 1996 presidential election as a candidate of the Union of Democratic Forces (UDF). From 1992 to 1993 Mr. Stoyanov was Deputy Minister of Justice in the first non-communist (UDF) government of Bulgaria since 1944. In 1994, as the holder of a doctorate in law, he was elected as a member of the 37th National Assembly in Bulgaria and in 1995 he was elected Deputy Chairman of the UDF. Petar Stoyanov is an active and passionate promoter of democracy and European ideals.

In the 2002 he founded the “Petar Stoyanov Centre for Political Dialogue”. He is a member of several different international associations, e.g. the Clinton’s Global Initiative, the Board of Global Fairness Initiative, the Judging Committee of the European Business Awards, the International Advisory Board of the American Bar Association, Board Member of the Nizami Ganjavi International Center, Honorary co-chair of the World Justice Project and is a member of the European Executive Committee of the Trilateral Commission. Additionally, he has been the winner of numerous awards like the Anti-Defamation League’s Courage to Care Award, the Annual Award of the Association of the Russian Lawyers, etc.  September 2004 Appointed Special Envoy for Moldova of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office.

In 2005 Stoyanov returned to active politics. He was elected member of the 40th National Assembly, he was member of European Integration Committee and member of State Administration Affairs Committee. Because of UDF's inadequate result at these elections (8.4% of the popular vote, and 20 out of 240 seats) he blamed rigorously the party leader Nadezhda Mihailova criticizing her policy. On October 1, 2005 the UDF National Conference elected him as a Chairman.

In May 20, 2007 at the first Bulgarian elections for EU Parliament Stoyanov - who led UDF list - failed to get elected since UDF fell 1% short of the 5.66% electoral threshold. This resulted in his resignation from the chairmanship of the Union of Democratic Forces in 22 May 2007.